2012 – The Year of Eschatology

Just a quick post to mark the birth of 2012 and wish all of my readers a happy new year!

Last year was a struggle at times, with minor upheavals in both work and health but also interesting forays into the world of pseudo-science.

2011 was very much the year of pseudo-science for me; taking the opportunity to combine scientific process with magical thinking.

I tried hypnotherapy for weightloss and experimented with a number of divination techniques, primarily based upon the I-Ching.  I hope to document some of my findings here over the coming months – I already have several draft posts that require attention before submission.

I learnt a lot about how my mental make-up helps me handle high pressure situations and how devastating it can be to remove that make-up.

I discovered the true face of democracy when my local council will happily scour green belt land away to make room for housing and a data centre, despite the powers that be voting against the developments.

Finally I realised just how good I am at what I do and the true value behind that.

Eschatologists are likely aware that 2012 is a doomed year; the Mayan calendar ends around Yule this year.  As the Mayans were believed to be skilled astronomers and mathematicians, some take this to mean that the world will face some catastrophe in 2012.

People following the news for the last few years may argue it already faces a multitude of catastrophes.

An eschatological event doesn’t necessarily mean death and destruction, however.  It could mean a dramatic change to the way the world works.  Radical societal or industrial changes could equally be classed as the end of one world and the birth of another.

Of course, some will find enjoyment in imagining far more biblical ends to come this December.

For myself, I choose to see 2012 as a year of change.

I am looking to change many aspects of my life and lifestyle throughout the year; many of these changes will be documented or commented upon here.

Primarily, I hope to be more creative this year.

I have a number of writing projects planned, including a collaboration with a friend and colleague.

I am also hoping to improve my artistic skills, mainly drawing but that could grow into painting maybe… we will see.

Anyway, that’s it for me on this grey January morning, please continue reading for the WordPress provided facts and figures regarding this blog throughout 2011…

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2011 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

A New York City subway train holds 1,200 people. This blog was viewed about 7,300 times in 2011. If it were a NYC subway train, it would take about 6 trips to carry that many people.

Click here to see the complete report.

2 thoughts on “2012 – The Year of Eschatology

  1. Pingback: Wallowing in Nostalgic Eschatology: Skeeter Davis « Digressions of a ProAcaFan

  2. Pingback: Wallowing in Nostalgic Eschatology: Skeeter Davis « Digressions of a ProAcaFan

Leave a comment