How to Add Apps & Games to the Zune HD

Earlier this year, Microsoft’s portable media player and iPod killer, the Zune, was declared dead.

This came something of a shock to those of us, here in the UK, who were yet to see one on sale – let alone get our grubby little tech-hungry mitts on one.

In fact, for most of us limeys, our only exposure to Microsoft’s Zune has been via changes to the dashboard on the XBOX 360 and the way it handles movies and music.

I was therefore surprised when my tech-savvy boss announced that he had bought a Zune HD for his son.

As a fellow iPhobe (in the sense of not being Apple fanboys… not the luddite definition I’ve linked to), the boss was enthusiastic about the lightweight media player and beaming with eagerness to get the device set up for his son to open up on Christmas Day.

We enthused about the clear graphics and clarity of sound that the device produced.

That was yesterday.

Today was a different story altogether.

The boss had started to add a few of his son’s favourite tunes to the device; videos too.

Getting as excited as his son is likely to be, the boss then tried to add some games…

… therein lies the problem with the Zune HD in the UK.

Don’t get me wrong, my boss isn’t a gamer – not in my sense of the term.

Cards, golf and football – in the flesh – that’s my boss’s style; capping fools online in the latest FPS is definitely not his scene.  He does accept that his son enjoys playing electronic games though.

Now my boss is fairly clued up when it comes to technology and the Zune’s rareness in the UK is probably the only reason he gave up trying to solve his problem himself.

The problem, in short, is that the UK Zune marketplace only seems to sell Music, Videos and Windows Phone Apps.

Having asked for my help, we trawled Google like some kind of nouveau detective duo – a cyberspace answer to the Morse and Lewis.

No matter how many times we tried to find out how to add apps or games to the Zune HD we ended up at the same unbelievable dead end.

The world according to Google was telling us that the way to get 3rd party apps onto the Zune HD was to install Visual Studio, Visual C# and a specific games development module and then download the app’s source code and deploy it to your Zune through the development module.

Time and time again we came to one explanation or another as to how this could be achieved.

To give my boss credit, he was more than willing to do this but I was incredulous.  I couldn’t see how a company the likes of Microsoft could release a commercial product that required developer tools to implement software on – especially when they would be losing out on marketplace revenue.

Furthermore, I couldn’t see software houses releasing their source code to allow users to deploy apps to their own devices.

The boss agreed to leave it with me.  I gave up on Google for a solution, investigating the Zune software instead.

At my wits end, I did something I have only ever done once before… I contacted Microsoft.

The Zune website offers a live chat support option.  Once you’ve  entered a description of your problem you are linked to a support operative who then helps you out.

Seriously!

I ended up speaking to a chap called Sergio who very quickly told me the cause of the problem and talked me through the solution.

A simple explanation of the cause of the problem is that the Zune was only ever officially released in the United States.

As such, the app marketplace is only available to people logged in with a U.S. Windows Live account.

My account is a UK account, always has been, always will be.  If it were American, I’d never be able to buy UK Microsoft Points and so forth.

The simple solution, for non-US users, was to create a US Windows Live account, link it to a Zune account and then link that to the Zune HD.

A step-by-step way to do this follows… make sure you’ve downloaded the Zune Software and gone through the basic setup wizard on the Zune HD first.

  1. Make sure that the Zune is unplugged and Zune Software is closed.
  2. Log out of your normal non-US Windows Live account, if y0u’re logged in.
  3. Go to https://signup.live.com and create a new US based account.  Even if you’re forced into selecting a .co.uk email address, if you select a US Zip Code for the address, then the account will believe it is American.  I used 11561 and a New York dialling code.
  4. Once you’ve created an account and reached the main Windows Live page (you can view the welcome email to confirm) then go to the Zune site http://www.zune.net/
  5. Sign up for a Zune account, choosing United States as your location.
  6. Once you have completed registration, you can close your browser – we’re done with the web browsing part of the solution.
  7. Now go to your control panel and change your location to United States.  Click here for advice on doing this in Windows 7, in Windows XP you can change this setting in the Regional Settings.
  8. Once you have OK’d the change to your location, start up the Zune Software and sign in using your new US Windows Live account.
  9. Plug your Zune in and let the software detect it.
  10. Click on Settings (at the top) and Linking (down the left) – link your US Windows Live ID to your Zune HD.
  11. You can now unplug the device and should be able to see a “Marketplace” option in the main menu.  Your device is now set up as a US user, if you’re connected to a wi-fi connection you should be able to browse for apps and download any that you fancy… you may need to pay for some apps.

I was really impressed with the help and advice I got from Microsoft but disappointed with the availability of that advice to non-US Zune users.

Now that I’ve seen the device configured with apps as well as video and music, I’m actually quite tempted myself.

If you want to see a transcript of the chat conversation I had with Sergio D from the Zune marketplace support team, read on…

General Info
Chat start time  Dec 6, 2011 9:06:08 AM EST
Chat end time  Dec 6, 2011 9:38:36 AM EST
Duration (actual chatting time)  00:32:27
Operator  Sergio D.
Chat Transcript
info: Please wait for an agent to respond.  You are currently ‘1’ in the queue.
You are now chatting with ‘Sergio D.’.

Sergio D.: Hello Ben Sugden, My name is Sergio D. with Microsoft Customer Support and I will be assisting you today. For your records, your service request number is: XXXXXXXXXX
Sergio D.: Please give me a few moments as I review the information you’ve submitted.
Sergio D.: Thanks for waiting Ben. I see that you have a Zune HD and need to install the applications on the device.
Ben Sugden: Hi Sergio, no worries. Yes, that is the case.
Sergio D.: Before you can install applications on the device you need to link the device to a Windows Live ID. Considering that the Zune HD devices were only released in the U.S, you need to link this Zune account to a U.S Live ID so that you’re allowed to download the applications.
Sergio D.: Sorry, that is, you need to link the Zune device to a U.S live ID.
Ben Sugden: That’s interesting. My boss purchased this device here in the UK I believe. Is it possible for a UK citizen to create a U.S. Live ID?
Sergio D.: Sure it is, I can assist you through the steps to help you install those apps.
Ben Sugden: Awesome! That would be very helpful.
Sergio D.: Ok, first thing we need to do is open another browser and type the following link; https://signup.live.com.
Sergio D.: That will take to the Hotmail sign up page to create a new Live ID.
Ben Sugden: OK… That’s loading up right now
Sergio D.: OK, create the new Live ID and make sure you select U.S as the country of region. You can use New York and 11561 as Zip code.
Sergio D.: Do you have the Zune software installed on your PC?
Ben Sugden: I do, Yes. I’m just filling in the sign up form.
Sergio D.: Brilliant, what Windows OS version do you have?
Ben Sugden: Windows 7
Ben Sugden: I’ve completed sign up, using US Zip Code and telephone dial code.
Sergio D.: Ok, were you take to the Windows Live mane page where you’re shown the welcome email?
Ben Sugden: I am on the main screen now and have 1 mail
Ben Sugden: Yup, I have the welcome email
Sergio D.: Ok, no type on the address bar of the same window, Zune.net and press enter.
Ben Sugden: I’m at the zune site now
Sergio D.: You will be take to the Zune.net page were you can sign up for a Zune account. Make sure you choose United States as the location settings and complete the registration.
Ben Sugden: OK. I’ll do that now.
Ben Sugden: I’ve created a U.S. account and am now at a Welcome screen
Sergio D.: OK, now please close the Zune software if it is open, and go to Control Panel\Clock, Language, and Region, and click on Region and Language.
Ben Sugden: I’m there…
Sergio D.: Please click on the location tab ans select United States as location settings and then press Apply and OK.
Ben Sugden: OK, I’ve done that
Sergio D.: OK, now please open the Zune software again and sign in with the Live ID we’ve just created.
Ben Sugden: OK. I’m in as my U.S. Live ID
Ben Sugden: And I can see an option for Zune HD in the marketplace
Sergio D.: oK, please connect the Zune HD to the PC and go through the Wizard to name it and so on.
Ben Sugden: The Zune has a name now.
Sergio D.: Do you have a Wi-Fi access to Internet available?
Ben Sugden: I do… and the device is registered on it. I’ve plugged it into my PC though… should I leave it in or take it out?
Sergio D.: Leave it for now please.
Ben Sugden: OK
Sergio D.: Go to Settings > Device > Linking and Link your Device to the new Live ID.
Ben Sugden: I’ve linked the device
Sergio D.: OK, now disconnect the device from the PC and you should notice the Marketplace application appearing on the device itself.
Ben Sugden: Yes. Superb!
Sergio D.: If you have a WiFi on the device you should now be able to download the applications from the device.
Ben Sugden: Sergio! That is amazing. Thank you very much.
Sergio D.: You’re very welcome.
Ben Sugden: I’m away and downloading apps as requested.
Ben Sugden: You’ve helped us make a little lad very happy. Thank you again.
Sergio D.: Please visit the site here; http://www.zune.net/en-US/support/zuneplayers/default.htm for a complete guide on how to use the device when needed.
Sergio D.: I’m glad you find my help useful.
Sergio D.: Is there anything else I can assist you with, Ben Sugden?
Ben Sugden: Thank you for the link. That is all I needed Sergio D. Have a great day.
Sergio D.: If you have any additional questions, feel free to contact us again. Thank you for contacting Microsoft Customer Support and have a great day!

2 thoughts on “How to Add Apps & Games to the Zune HD

  1. Under normal circumstances I would be all out in favor of ANYTHING that opposes the cult of bullshit around Apple. However… and then there was the Zune…

    Simply the ARROGANCE of the product’s introduction ensured I would never dirty my hands in the Zune market place. I do not like the iPod either – but there are other, better solutions like the music players which creative used to make. The PSP is a good mp3/aac/wav player and I certainly use it as such far, far more than I do a games platform. Even a mobile phone is better than a zune. The sheer lunacy of MS to believe marketing their boondoggle as ‘a brown alternative for brown people, alienated by the iPod’s whiteness’… They actuality believed customers would want to ‘squirt’ ANYTHING at each other – at least in public. I mean… ‘squirt’ was the marketting term they CHOSE. DELIBERATELY. ‘squirt’… And the ‘miss-steps’ continued, not least the way the software monopolizes your media use if you make the irrevocable mistake of installing it to your 360.

    A particularly dear friend once suggested I read a technology paper that was written in the late nineties called ‘The cathedral and the bazaar’. It was brand new back then and carried a great deal of positive buzz. She was certain I would appreciate the subtext. I did. Sadly it seems neither MS nor Apple gave that work a look over. The zune debacle among many others just goes to illusrate.

    • By way of a follow-up. I see now the Zune and its marketing ethos was only the beginning.

      I state immediately I am NOT a Linux freak in any way at all. I have tried many times since 1995 to use Linux and failed each and every time. A couple of days ago however I set up a VERY old machine – circa 2000 – to run Debian, which it seems to do well. I have attached that to my Windows 2003 network. It can quite comfortably run a SSh server which allows me to connect remotely from my own Win7 desktop, giving a BaSH shell over PuTTY. In this way it is allowing me to slowly and at my own pace learn the basics of Linux/Unix command line. That is surely the foundation of using any OS successfully – the console.

      Anyway. After castigating the Zune so thoroughly above I unfortunately was forced last night to install the new 360 dashboard… This thing is called ‘Metro’… It is meant to be the same GUI as will run Win8 and critically MS’s attempt to capture the smartphone market. It is HORRIBLE. No amusing hyperbole, no resort to the obscene. I cannot summon the energy for either. It is just plain, outright BAD. It is the culmination of a slow process of removing the computer from the user. It puts the grinning buffoon of ‘Major Nelson’ between you and your console at all times. ‘Dumbing down’ is a buzz cliche, but true nonetheless.

      The exploitation of this control has already begun as well, each tile that represents a console action, ‘music’, ‘video’ and so on also have sub-tiles dedicated to advertising. I can only imagine how terrible that will be in its full win8 incarnation. Want to open a file… ‘Have you considered our inexpensive cloud storage solutions?’. Want to write a BDRW… ‘Check out our bargains on rewritable media’. Want to listen open VLC to play a music file ‘Have you heard about the Zune marketplace’ And on and on and on – each complaint being mealy-mouthed away with condescending smiles and talk of majority satisfaction.

      The old nudge-nudge, wink-wink ribaldry of using a condom being like taking a shower with your wellies on could not be more apposite. Moreover the Metro interface it is like wearing wellies for sex that loudly keep trying to sell you Levonelle 1500. And that you can’t take off. Ever.

      Hopefully my now sustainable experimentation with Linux will allow me to safely shift over to KDE when Win8 becomes compulsory.

Leave a Reply

