Movember 2012 – Post Mortem

The Final DayIt’s over ten days since the end of Movember and just over four since I shaved it all off.

I’d like to say a big thank you to those that donated money to Movember via either myself or the team.

£115 was donated through my own mo-space, which contributed well to the £305 raised by my team.

I had intended to keep the mowth until the new year, so that I could show it to family and friends over the festive period but I found that I had grown too attached to it, if that makes sense.

I have an incredibly addictive personality (and no, I don’t mean that once you’ve met me, you just can’t get enough of me)  and far too easily find myself falling into repetitive patterns.

I don’t feel bad about that, we all do it to a greater or lesser degree – I just don’t like it.  Ever since I quit smoking in 2001 I’ve found myself fighting habits as they form.

How is this relevant to killing the tash?

Well, I recently saw the star-studded film Contagion, which contained a wonderful soundbite for those inclined towards hypochondria.

The average person touches their face three to five times every waking minute.

My Selleck-wannabe elevated me to levels way above average, I was stroking that beauty more times per minute than Ron Jeremy stroked… well, you get my point.

I constantly found myself touching it and aside from the fictional chance of catching Paltrow-cultivated brain mush, I found the habit disturbing.

And as the translations of the good book seem to paraphrase from the language of its original scribing:

If thine eye offends thee, pluck it out.

Stop Motion

And so I plucked… well I’m not man enough to use a lady shave or Veet for men, so I shaved.

As promised earlier, I did compose a stop-motion day to day as best I could.

Some of the earlier days are missing but you can see the animation here, on a permanent loop – click for larger version.

One final note of worth.

As the Movember site is winding down for 2012, I thought I’d look for other Ben Sugdens on the site.  I wasn’t disappointed.

There were two others, I don’t think I’ve found either before: The buff tattooed Ben Sugden and the also-employed-in-comms Ben Sugden.

 

Leave a Reply

