The Witcher 2 – Reviewed by Roleplayers

Geralt of RiviaI recently read this excellent review of The Witcher 2 by fellow Huddersfield based roleplayer, Shorty.

From his recent experience of playing The Witcher 2 to the size of his pile of books yet to read, I hadn’t realised we had so much in common.

Said pile is in fact an entire book case full of stuff, but it’s on there nonetheless.

You can read Shorty’s review here, it’s written from the point of view of a tabletop roleplayer; a point of view that demonstrates quite aptly the flaws in the Witcher 2.

I commented at length as to one particular memory the game dredged up, wherein the games GM railroaded players so incessantly and with such ferocity that the game was ruined and closed early.

Prior to my own comment there is reference to the unoriginality in character naming within the game, although I’ve not read Eddings, so I can’t comment.

Piles of Books(What? I told you I had a massive pile of books to read!)

It is well worth visiting Shorty’s blog, he’s only just started posting his thoughts recently but what he’s posted so far is well worth a read.

I am going to seek out the books that Shorty mentions. When my friend, Morelenmir, recommended the original to me years ago, it was the world and environment that he sold me on.

The stories are written by Polish author, Andrzej Sapkowski. It looks like The Last Wish might be a good place to start.

As for my own opinion of the Witcher 2 (and the game it followed) I just couldn’t get into them.

The earlier game threw me on gameplay alone, years of console gaming have atrophied my PC gaming skills, I vowed to take up the sequel when it came out on XBOX 360.

This most recent edition is far too linear though. The game is riddled with RSI inducing spamhit “A” then “Y” then “B” type nonsense and some wonderfully crafted but incredibly drawn out cut scenes and dialogue.

I also found the “adult” scenes childishly cloying – a stulted inference that roleplayers get off on that kind of pixelated frotting.

OK, Geralt of Rivia enjoys sexual intercourse – I get it (and so does he) – but I don’t need it rubbed in my face (although I’m guessing he does) when I’m trying to play a game.

I play PC/console roleplaying games for immersion, leveling and story. If I want erotica there are plenty of (probably illegal) hentai games out there (and a whole interweb of sauciness out there).

Maybe there’s a whole other blog post there. I could air my views on Geralt’s rutting and Duke Nukem‘s troilistic fellatio.

All in all, I didn’t enjoy the Witcher games BUT I can see how some people would. They just aren’t my cup of tea.

What does excite me about the Witcher is things like this:

A fan film (that term does not do them justice) made by my awesome friends (and fellow roleplayers) at It’s A Trap.

4 thoughts on “The Witcher 2 – Reviewed by Roleplayers

  1. I always feel extremely guilty when I heavily recommend a quantity – whether book, music or other media and it fails to impress.

    So far as ‘The Witcher’ goes I have only played the first one, although now look forward immensely to the second now.

    Without tedious hyperbole I can only say I consider that first entry in the series to be in my top three CRP games… EVER! I think it may well be number 1, above both ‘skyrim’ and even maybe ‘mass effect II’. It is hard to say exactly why however. I enjoyed the adult tone – of which the admittedly childish ‘erotic’ collector’s cards is only a part. The characters – for me – were incredibly well drawn, captivating in some cases and empowering in others. There was also an extremely enchanting, wistful and elegiac tone underlying the entire story and in certain places shining through to dominate. Moreover, I really would not say it was linear – accepting again that I have not played part 2. Each ‘chapter’ had usually three separate outcomes and the different choices you made had ramifications which altered the whole future course of the game. In this aspect it was very like the mass effects.

    I had dismissed the David Eddings reference entirely, although it is only fleeting. To be honest I would say it was Eddings who gained by the association rather than the other way around! I dislike Eddings. I didn’t until the second series of the ‘Elenium’ books where the end of every piece of dialog was an overweening ‘be nice’. Sickly. Tedious. Tedious sickly.

    In a similar fashion It irritated me more than a little that the castle in dragonage was called ‘ostagar’, or ‘blood fortress’. However, the topic of how fantasy literature influences fantasy RPG’s is large enough to hold a whole post to itself!

  2. I was deterred from Eddings by overly ardent fans.

    I wish I had the patience to persist with the first Witcher – I may well do so once I have finished Diablo 3 again.

  3. At one point I fear I was one of those ardent fans!!! At least when I first read ‘The Elenium’ books. The third was so good I read it in a single day, and then returned to start again the following evening. But you can never go back. Never capture whatever it was again then so energized. Time and again I worked often poorly jury-rigged scenes, cut out in their entirety into my rolemaster tolkien campaigns. Then came ‘The Tamuli’ books and I think I can say in total honesty I had never before been so disappointed in a series of stories, never gone in so enraptured and even by the end of the first five or six chapters knew it had lost everything which made me a fan. In truth, the ending of first books had started to show cracks and these just got worse from then on – the suddenly overweening dialogue, the trite ‘family life’, the tedious introduction of entirely new and unwanted characters. I hate Eddings.

  4. Pingback: Gotta Catch ’em All – Armaitus on…

Leave a Reply

