Killing Joke – In Excelsis

Killing JokeIt certainly seems that I’ve spent the last quarter of the year with my head stuck in the sand.

Between Work and LRP I’ve not paid much attention to anything else.

So imagine my surprise when I discover that the greatest band of all time, Killing Joke, had released an EP back in June.

Like many fans I was disappointed when the band postponed their tour dates earlier in the year (I still have a ticket for the upcoming Edinburgh gig but probably can’t make it).

In ExcelsisThe original gig was set to coincide with the release of a new album from the original Killing Joke line up (also postponed).

Now, I knew the album was rescheduled for a September release, so I shouldn’t have been as surprised as I was to see an advert in this month’s Fortean Times for Absolute Dissent.

Seeing the advert prompted me to look it up for pre-order on Amazon, which in turn alerted me to the new EP.

Absolute DissentI bought the EP on digital download from Amazon, although it does appear to be available for “free album download“.

I thought some of the Amazon reviews were a little over the top but having heard the EP, my initial reaction was wrong.  This EP deserves every positive comment.

In Excelsis is honestly the best thing to happen to me all week! Five tracks that prove Killing Joke’s musical evolution remains on track.

The closest I can describe listening to this EP is to say that, it is like discovering Killing Joke for the first time, all over again.  The sound is fresh, empowered and ancient.

Hosannas From The Basements of HellFrom the power of the title track “In Excelsis”, through the focus of “Endgame” and “Kali Yuga” to the rhythm and release coming from “Ghosts of Ladbroke Grove” and its accompanying dub mix; this EP showcases what can happen when artists recombine, despite the pitfalls life throws at them.

I didn’t take to Killing Joke’s last release, Hosannas from the Basement of Hell but if the new album is anything like the EP then it is sure to be the greatest Killing Joke album yet.

Absolute Dissent is available for pre-order on Amazon, although I think there is likely to be a 2 disc set available if you hold out for it.

Leave a Reply

