Music Video Nasties

As I have mentioned before, music is very important to me. One of my other guilty pleasures is a good old supernatural horror – no matter what medium it comes via.I'll eat your soul

One medium that is often overlooked for supernatural horror, or related themes, is the music video. There have been some fantastic horror themed music videos over the years and I’d like to share some of my favourites here.

Come to DaddyThe very best has to be Chris Cunningham‘s award winning video for Aphex Twin‘s Come To Daddy. What a truly awesome (in the fullest sense of the word) music video.

I get goosebumps just writing about it. Chris Cunningham’s work often has a dark or at least fantastic side to it; with Come to Daddy he manages to capture a rare kind of urban horror that you usually only get from British horror or J-Horror films. Chris Cunningham manages to evoke that feeling of being truly alone, disturbing us with the latex masked Aphex Twin children and seemlessly synching the video with Aphex Twin’s own audio horror. The music and the video direction work absolutely as one, each being less without the other.Kate Bush

Second in my list is a video that has haunted me since my childhood, Kate Bush‘s Experiment IV. The song itself is quite a haunting tune on its own but the video has aclassic British Horror feel to it. I was a big fan of the Comic Strip when I was younger and this video came across as a bit of a Comic Strip Nasty, with the likes of Dawn French and Hugh Laurie appearing throughout.  The creature in Kate’s video is very similar in both origin and appearance, both born from technology and yet ghoulishly demonic.  Experiment IV

My third and final offering is a music video that sums up everything I like about haunting entities on film. Another music video in a British horror style is the fantastic Mary by Supergrass.

SupergrassWhilst not as visually shocking as Come to Daddy, I love this video for its depiction of supernatural forces at work. I recommend the full version as opposed to the comedy “Onions” version (which blocks out the more horrific scenes with pictures of onions). The video itself is a pastiche of paranormal shorts: a man insane and alone in a room with bleeding walls, a woman hallucinating death and a girl attacked in her bath. There are nods to British screen paranormality, like shots of the water pipes evoking memories of “Mr Pipes” from the BBC’s Ghostwatch.Mary

Leave a Reply

